Join me as I explore different happenings in Education

Daily Emails to Parents

Another part of my job that I find quite useful is daily emails to parents.  At the school that I am currently working at we have been asked to send emails home every day to inform the parents about what has been going on in the classroom, any upcoming events and if there is any homework for the next day or the near future.  As you can well imagine, there isn’t much (if any) homework in Kindergarten but I find the other two purposes of the daily emails quite helpful for the parents of my students.

Parents often tell me that they enjoy reading about what their child does during the day because when they ask their child during supper what happened at school they often receive an answer of “I don’t know.” or “Nothing!” As a parent, I know how frustrating this can be because you would love to talk to your child about what happened during the day but if they don’t tell you first what they did, it is very difficult to carry on a conversation about school.

I have often wondered however how many of the parents in my classroom actually read the full email.  I know that I am lucky to some extent in a Kindergarten classroom because the parents are just as eager as the students and they want to make sure that they are doing everything correctly. I find that I question sometimes the time that I put into my emails because I will often receive emails back from parents asking me about something that I have specifically mentioned in a previous email.

From a parent’s perspective I find the daily emails very helpful but I sometimes wish that there are some set standards that the teachers would have to follow.  I find it frustrating to receive an email that is one line in length and doesn’t tell me anything other that the child’s homework for the evening.  I do believe that this has helped me to remember to send more detailed emails home to the parents of my students. I figure if I send home specifics about what happened during the day, that the parents will develop the habit of talking to their child at an early age and hopefully this will continue for the rest of their education, therefore helping the parents and the children out in the long run.

If anyone has any opinions about parent emails and the usefulness of them, I would love to hear them.  Also, if there is anyone that uses daily emails and includes other information that they would like to share with me, I am always looking for ways to keep my parents informed and interested in their child’s education.

Comments on: "Daily Emails to Parents" (2)

  1. It is great that you provide your parents with a daily email! Because they are too young to write in an agenda, the way I have my grade 5’s do each day, this would both provide organization and a great way to engage one’s child in a discussion of his/her day. I bet that you have a lot of appreciative parents!

    I keep a classroom blog that I update on a weekly basis, informing the parents as to what we did throughout the week, what’s on the go next week, and what is due each day. That way, the parents have to take responsibility and cannot use the “we didn’t know about that / my child didn’t bring home a note” excuse. Many of the parents and students have responded very favourably, but as you said, I’m not sure how many do actually check the blog on a regular basis.

    Do you find that parents expect you to check your email constantly because you send the daily email? I have some parents who will email me questions about school late in the evening, and then seem annoyed if I do not check my email multiple times a day, or respond to them after they have emailed me very late at night, or during the school day. That has been the only downside to emailing parents that I have found.

    • Most of the parents in my classroom have been very good about not expecting emails back immediately. I always start the year out explaining that I attempt to check my emails twice during the day but that it doesn’t always work that way due to the fact that I have 21 students in the morning and 21 in the afternoon. Most Kindergarten parents understand that I don’t have time during the day to sit down and check my emails because the students need my constant attention.

Leave a Reply

