Join me as I explore different happenings in Education

So much to learn!

After having completed my second EC&I 831 class I realize just how much I have to learn about technology, twitter, blogging, etc. As I sat here tonight listening to this stuff, I can’t help but feel a little overwhelmed (but in a good way).  When I first signed up for this class it was mostly due to the fact that I would be able to attend classes in person due to my 4th pregnancy. Now two classes in, I am thinking that this class will be a great challenge for me and push me in many new directions.

I had been skeptical of Twitter in the past because it seemed like a huge waste of time but after listening to everyone tonight and writing down a couple of the chats that people partake in I can’t wait to try it out.  Thank you to everyone who posted the tags for all those great chats. I never even knew (or dreamed) that something like this existed out there.

I have to admit that Delicious still confuses me quite a bit but I am hoping that I will be able to become comfortable with these different tools as time goes on. Thank you to everyone who participated in tonight’s class. I am now off to explore a few of these wonderful things that I learned tonight so that I can understand it all better.

Comments on: "So much to learn!" (5)

  1. I hope that you give Twitter a chance and take some time to reach out and learn! I have learned so much more from my network on Twitter than any professional development session I have attended. It’s awesome that you are taking the plunge; it can be overwhelming but be patient with yourself!

    • Thanks for the words of encouragement Joan. I am trying to be patient. I tried tonight asking for ideas in regards to good art projects via my Tweet account so I will wait to see what that will bring up for me.

  2. You’re not alone. When you first dive into social media, it is always scary and exciting. The best way to get the hang of it is to just jump in and wade around. Twitter can be a valuable tool for developing PLNs and connecting with people.

    Delicious is an interesting tool, but it isn’t always intuitive. I use Pinboard for social bookmarking because it allows me greater control. I think if you start with Twitter and follow a few people you’re interested in, like your classmates, then it’ll help you get acclimated.

    Start there and then expand out. I think you’ll discover an exciting world of social knowledge.

  3. Hi honnilizee.
    I figured Twitter was a waste of time too, but that changed after I used it for about a week. In fact, the only reason I found your blog was due to a Twitter post. Sign up, spend a bit of time finding interesting people to follow, and only Tweet when you figure you have something you care to share.

    I read far more on Twitter than I write or post. Still, some of my best PD as a high school teacher has come through links shared on Twitter. I like the #edchat hashtag- a good place to start if you want to look at Twitter as a way to learn from other educators here, there, & everywhere.

    Since you’re involved in this as part of a course, Twitter may seem like something you “have” to do. I’m not in that situation. I use Twitter as a way to keep up with what’s current, and to get to know a few people that I’d have no hope of ever knowing about otherwise. Think of it as one more way for you to learn some cool new stuff.

    Finally, Twitter was far more fun for me once I was using Tweetdeck. Google it, and see what you think. There are other programs that also help you to make better use of Twitter, but Tweetdeck is the one I know best.

    All the best to you as you explore!
    @Roy_Norris

    • Thanks Roy for the comment. I discovered the #kinderchat hashtag, so I am hoping that I can find lots of great resources and ideas from the different people that use this specific hashtag.
      We also talked a bit about Tweetdeck in class, so I signed up for that right away. It is amazingly helpful and certainly makes the whole think less daunting. I definitely look forward to exploring Twitter but I feel like I have so many questions and I am not sure where to go yet to ask them.
      For example, is there a list of hashtags someone that one can easily locate?

Leave a Reply

