Join me as I explore different happenings in Education

Taking the plunge

So after thinking about it for a few days, I finally took the plunge.  I have started a classroom blog for my Kindergarten students.  I am excited to see how this new project of mine will go. My main goal with this blog is to give the parents a visual of what the students have been working on that day at school. I hope to be able to put something on every day but I know that might not always be possible.

As I mentioned earlier, I write a daily email to my parents describing what happened at school and giving them any important information for the upcoming days or weeks at school. My blog is not going to replace this but rather help them understand what we did with a short explanation of a lesson and then a picture of some sort that accompanies the lesson.  I am hoping the parents will embrace this, as it will be another way for them to communicate with their child about what has been happening at school.  I am going to be very careful not to put up any pictures of the children, as I simply want this to be an informational tool.

Here is the link to the blog.  Please be patient if it doesn’t look complete yet. I started it today after school and haven’t had the time to fill in everything yet. I will keep you posted as to the success and if I hear anything back from the parents.

Mme Lizée’s Classroom Blog

Comments on: "Taking the plunge" (2)

  1. I’m not a parent of one of your kiddos, but I think this is a great idea!! I wish our school would do the same thing.

  2. This is fabulous!!! For many parents what their child does at school is a mystery. You are allowing your students’ parents to get a peek into what school is like for their child. This will also help guide the daily, “what did you do at school today?”, conversation at home. This is a real commitment on your part, but I really believe a worthwhile one. I have always felt that many of the negative interactions with parents could be avoided through better school-home communication. Way to go! I can’t wait to hear about the parents’ response to this endeavor.

Leave a comment