Join me as I explore different happenings in Education

iPods in the Classroom

Today as I was traveling in the car with my husband and three young children we were listening to a book on CD in order to pass the time (and keep the kids quiet). Like usual, I was thinking about school and different ways that I could engage the children and encourage them to try new things. My husband and I were talking about iPods and it suddenly dawned on me that they would be a good way of making use of all the CD’s that I have purchased over the years to accompany different books. I have a number of books for young children that my own children love listening to but I don’t play them as often as I should or could because I don’t want to be changing the CD every two to four minutes because the book is over, nor do I want to be listening to the same book over and over again for thirty or forty minutes.

For the very minimal cost of buying an iPod (and the original cost of buying the book with CD), one could create a very interactive reading centre for the students. The students would be able to look at the book and have it read to them at the same time, yet not have the hassle of changing the CD after every book. This would encourage them to look at books more and therefore foster their interest in books.

Comments on: "iPods in the Classroom" (8)

  1. Great idea Honni! Most of my students use our listening station every day during our ELA time- it is usually a collaborative activity- do you think a docking station allow more than one student to listen at once? I don’t have an ipod or know anything about them!

    Melissa 🙂

  2. I was thinking about a docking station. That would be a little bit of a cost to purchase that right away but I think it would be worth it. It would allow more students to participate at once and hopefully encourage some discussion around the book(s) they were listening to also.

  3. Excellent idea, and something that you should certainly be able to do.

    Except, with coming legislation, ripping those CDs to the iPod may actually be illegal soon. See: http://www.thestar.com/business/article/1063099–geist-why-canada-s-new-copyright-bill-remains-flawed

    We are losing our rights in the digital sense. You have a wonderful idea here, but unfortunately, doing something like that could mean jailtime or fines. I encourage you to learn more and take action if you are so inclined.

    • I will definitely have to look into that article. It seems wrong that the government would be able to do something like this especially if I have already purchased the CD’s. It almost makes the whole industry seem useless if you can’t transfer the music (or in this case the stories) to another source.

  4. Cathy Germano said:

    I thought of using an ipod a while back and found this website http://www.techsupportalert.com/free-books-audio This is a list of places where I could download books for students. A couple good starting places are http://librivox.org/ and http://www.loudlit.org/ Once I found a group of books in various categories I downloaded them to my computer and created a playlist. Good luck!

  5. Nice post. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Wow, it seems ridiculous that an educational activity could lead to fines or jail time in the future. It seems as though we are in a constant state of reaction with regards to technology as opposed to being proactive. At some point the people in positions of power, teachers included, will have to let go of the idea that we can attain complete control. By simply banning or fining or threatening we are making the inevitable more difficult.

    I love the idea of listening stations and when I hear elementary teachers talking about these things it makes me so excited for Em!

  7. What a great idea and how ridiculous is it that this could be illegal. I am certain that this idea would be great in language and vocabulary development and would certainly allow your varied learners the chance to be challenged at a level they would require. I hope you can come up with a work-around.

Leave a Reply

