Join me as I explore different happenings in Education

Final Project for EC&I 831

Pretty Awesome 3D Metal WordPress Logo by bobbigmac, on Flickr
Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License  by  bobbigmac 

Okay, so it is about time that I get started on my final project for EC&I 831. I have had the idea since it was first mentioned in class and I have emailed Alec and he says that it will work. So all I really have to do is get started. For some reason, I find myself stalling.

My idea for the project is to create a blog about all the different websites that are available to help parents of children in French Immersion. I am thinking that I will aim my blog for parents of Kindergarten and Grade 1 students. I know that there are lots of other websites that help children who are older than this however I don’t have much experience with older children so I decided to concentrate on the younger years. A blog like this would also assist parents of children who were a little older (say Grade 2 or 3) who were struggling with some of the base concepts. My intention is to locate a number of websites, critique them and give a little information about how the site works. The reason why I chose a blog is so that if any parents were to have questions about how a site works they could leave a comment and I would be able to get back to them.  Also, if a site changed, I would be able to update the information in a comment as well. This blog would also serve to help teachers also (I hope) so that they could easily locate a website that would be helpful for different outcomes they might be working on in class.

So now on to the stalling part, after emailing Alec and getting the go ahead I have done nothing. Alec mentioned having a page on the blog or a Google Doc where I talk about how the project is going, different feedback I have had from parents, any snags or accomplishments that I have run into, etc so that I am able to reflect and analyze the project as I am going. I think this is a great idea but I have decided that I don’t want to have this on the blog itself because the parents don’t really care about my personal reflections of the project (or at least I don’t think they would care about it) so that means that I will use Google Doc. Now, maybe this is why I am stalling. I have no idea how to use Google Doc (so if anyone out there has any hints, please feel free to pass them along). My goal for this weekend is to get the blog started and to attempt to figure out Google Docs. Please wish me luck.

Comments on: "Final Project for EC&I 831" (10)

  1. I forgot to mention if anyone has any good websites that I could use for my final project, please feel free to pass them along. I am looking for websites that would help parents to engage their child in different French activities on-line and educational websites that would help parents of younger children (idealistically in French but not necessarily).
    Thanks in advance.

  2. Honni,
    Do you have a Google Account? If you have a Gmail account, you have a Google account. If not, you can sign up here: https://accounts.google.com/NewAccount

    Once you have your Google account, you can access Google docs from:
    http://docs.google.com
    Bookmark this, or remember it.

    Now, when you are in Google Docs. You should see ‘Create’. Create a ‘Document’. This will look very much like Microsoft Word. The only difference is that you can share the document with me. On the top right-hand corner you will see ‘share’. Click on it, and ‘add collaborators.’ Add acouros@gmail.com and your document will be shared with me.

    Now, whatever you create in that document, I will be able to see throughout the semester. No need to reshare it with me.

    Does that help to get you started?

    • Thanks Alec. That makes perfect sense. I must have a Google account because I use Google Reader quite regularly. Thanks again for the tips.

  3. Thanks for the question Honni and thanks for the answer Alec. Now maybe I can start this as well. I have one more question. Do the people who are subscribed need a google account or does any email work? My goal next week is to use this application in one of my lessons on Treaty Education and record my class using it for my summary of learning piece.

    • I would hazard a guess and say that any email account works. When we use the Google Doc in class I am never logged into my account and I have access. Now, I don’t know this for sure so you might want to check it out with someone more knowledgeable.

  4. Well, I might be biased because my kids are in early French immersion so this would be right up my alley, but I think this is a wonderful idea. A well curated site with reviews from someone who has an informed opinion (such as yourself) is a very valuable resource.

    Here’s the site of my daughters computer teacher. It may have some useful resources for your final project http://www.members.shaw.ca/computerteacher/frenchlearning.htm

  5. Thanks for the link Clint. I took a quick look and it looks like there may be some good resources there.

  6. Sounds like Alec got you off to a good start with Google Docs. Another valuable feature of Google Docs is you can access your docs and work on them when you are offline. Take a look at this quick video tutorial http://youtu.be/7cyHYEfpRVA I hope this helps you. I use google docs all the time because not only can I access a document anytime from anywhere but it allows you to use spreadsheets, forms, drawings, and slides (similar to powerpoints). If you have any futher questions let me know. Good luck!

  7. Hooni, looks like a great project and I would be interested in providing the French Immersion consultant with your link when you get it up and running. Good Luck!

  8. […] past few months a few times, and if you would like to read up on those posts please feel free. The first time I mentioned the project I was just starting out and I talked about what I thought the project would […]

Leave a Reply

