Join me as I explore different happenings in Education

Summary of Learning

So after EC&I 831 last night I thought that I would take a look at the assignments that we had to do for the class. My personal blog seems to be moving along nicely as I am finding many different things that I want to reflect on and get different opinions on. On that note, that you to everyone who has taken the time to respond to my blog postings.

After some helpful comments in regards to Google Docs last week, my final project also seems to be moving along. I have started the blog and the reflection portion of the assignment. The title of my blog is French Immersion Resources for Parents. I haven’t let any of the other teachers in my school know about it yet so there are no parent comments but it is my goal to get a few more websites up on the blog before I send it out to parents. I don’t want to send it out with only a few websites because I don’t want the parents to feel as it isn’t useful. As for the Google Doc portion of the assignment, I have started it but that is all. There are a couple of reflections and I am hoping to analyze the work I have done in the next couple of weeks.

Now on to the third assignment that we have to do for EC&I 831, the Summary of Learning. I have been tossing ideas around in my head for a few weeks now but I thought that I should actually get started on it while the ideas are fresh. So last night I created a Prezi account and started playing around. I have started my own Prezi for my summary of learning. I feel that I have a lot to learn and I was getting quite frustrated last night while trying to get it to do exactly what I wanted but I figure that I have a bit of time left to figure it out. However, on that note if anyone has any hints as to how to make it easier to navigate Prezi or tricks that they have learned and would love to pass along, please share. I am very new to Prezi as that is not a site that I use lots with five year olds. Also, if anyone knows how to share what I have done in Prezi so far on my blog so that I can get feed back on it, that would be great also.

Comments on: "Summary of Learning" (5)

  1. Thanks for sharing the link to your French Immersion Resources blog — looks like a great project! An alum from our program recently created a Russian Portal http://russianportal.wordpress.com/ It’s clearly completely unrelated to French, but perhaps interesting to see an example that has similar general aims.

  2. Honnilizee,
    I am impressed that you are branching out and trying new things. It takes time to get the hang of it. When I first started using Prezi I watched a few cool prezis and thought I want to do that! What helped me is I went through the online manual. I really like how it categorizes the topics. Most of the stuff have short video tutorials. To find the online manual go to the bottom of any of the pages and in the lower right-hand side under the column for help is a link for the manual. As far as the sharing (embedding) prezi for your site, I have included a link that explains/shows you how to do it. http://prezi.com/learn/embedding/ Good luck and I hope this is helpful!

  3. I checked out Prezi and it looks very interesting! I’ll definitely have to see if that is something I could use for my final reflection – it will sneak up on us in no time! I hope you are feeling well and getting excited for a world of pink! 🙂

  4. I saw your prezi and was thinking how much I liked it. So, I began researching a few applications like it and I think I have one that I will be using for my summary. Thanks for lighting the fire under me!

  5. […] like as well as how I would go about reflecting on my learning while working on the project. The second time this project was mentioned was a quick update in regards to what I had done to date and how I felt […]

Leave a Reply

