Join me as I explore different happenings in Education

As I sit here thinking about everything that I have learned in EC&I 831, I can’t help but think that I am turning into a lurker. It took me a bit to get into the whole Twitter thing, but I really was starting to get used to using Twitter for educational purposes. I found that by following a couple of hashtags that really applied to what I was doing in the classroom, I was able to discover many new ideas, new activities, new resources, etc.  Twitter has helped me to develop a PLN and to discover people who can help me out with small, everyday problems in the classroom because they are experiencing similar situations. My problem is that now that I am on maternity leave for the next year, I don’t feel as if I have much to contribute to the discussion. I know that I can certainly participate with prior knowledge but I don’t know how often I will be on Twitter in order to participate. I find that what I have been doing recently has been watching the Tweets as they pop up on my screen (thanks to TweatDeck) and then every so often I will scroll through the chats that I have been following and look up any of the links that I find interesting. Lately there haven’t been as many that capture and maintain my attention though because I am not living the same reality that I was just a few short weeks ago.

I have to admit that it does seem like it is just Twitter where I seem to be lurking. When I think about my blog I find that I still have many ideas that I would like to blog about. I seem to be a bit behind (in my mind) and I don’t actually blog as often as I would like but I find that I still make the time for that. I don’t know if this is because blogging feels more natural to me and it is easier for me to do or what, but that is the reality that I have noticed. I have noticed also that the feedback and comments that I receive from the blog seem more indepth than those via Twitter. I would think this is because if someone has something to share or comment on, they are able to say it and not have to worry about character limitations.

I continue to read all the posting by everyone else in class also, and have even added some other blogs that I have found on my own that I follow also. I find these blog postings a great way to stay current and to know what is on the mind of other educators.

Comments on: "I fear I am becoming a “Lurker”" (8)

  1. Honni, I feel the same way about Teitter. I have tweatdeck open on my computer all of the time, and I have found some great blogs and sites that I have used but I don’t find that I put much out there. I am definately a lurker. I also don’t know what the rules are about retweating something I have found useful. Do you have any ideas on that one?

  2. lorenaleibel said:

    I am with you both! I definitely re-tweet more than I “share my own”. For me it is the “newness” of it all for me. I am still trying to figure out where I belong in the twitter world! As for re-tweets, I just do it and 9 times out of ten I get a thank you from the original owner. It is comforting to know that others are experiencing the same reservations as I am.

  3. I think this is all part of our learning curve. This is all new and in the beginning it takes time to figure out where all of this fits into our lives. Now that it is becoming more of a habit and I see the benefit in what I am doing, I can’t wait until after Christmas when I am back to teaching full time and can use all of this on a daily basis.

    As far as sharing my own, it’s sad to say but a lot of the materials and resources I have made are still hard copy (insert gasp!). I am excited to start to plan and create some of my own ideas digitally just to tweet them out there and see what happens!

  4. Ha. One of my staff feels like she is stalking people while using Tweeter. It certainly is a paradigm shift using this type of Social Media, but I like to call it digital collaboration.
    We all keep growing, right?

  5. And by Tweeter, I mean Twitter. 🙂 🙂

  6. I feel that lurking is still valuable because it is our starting point – I, too, have many things in hard copy and am inspired to make them available online to share with others. Even if we are simply re-tweeting and sharing ideas/links through our blogs, we are still participating in the conversation. I am also just happy to know that I am not the only one at this point – I am not alone in my lurking. 🙂

  7. I love lurking or creeping as I like to call it. I am sure one day I will have valuable information to share with everyone out there!

    I have learned a lot from twitter and found valuable resources and ideas that I can take into my classroom and my own professional learning!

Leave a Reply

