Join me as I explore different happenings in Education

Thanks for the inspiration!

Thanks to my wonderful classmates, I have spent a large amount of time today playing around with different tools on-line. I have often seen different posters where there are a number of different words all centered around one theme but I have never known how to create one myself. Thanks to Judy, I have now discovered Wordle and I love what you can do.

While discovering this tool, I have also figured out how to take a snapshot of my screen. This took me quite a while to do, but after lots of playing around I was able to figure it out. It was remarkably easy to do. On my computer I had to use a tool called “Snipping tool”, but once I figured that out, I can now “snip” anything I want. I don’t know for sure if this is how it is supposed to be done, but that was the only way I could get it to work.

Thanks to Katy, I have discovered a tool called Picnik. This tool is amazingly simple to use and so much fun. I think I might just use it to make our family  Christmas picture this year a little more interesting. I can’t wait to play around with it. For all of you who were wondering what my daughter might look like, I used this tool on one of her many pics that I have taken.

Thanks to Chelsi’s wonderful work with Xtranormal, I thought that I would give that a try also. It was really easy to use. I could have done more tweaking on my video, but I really was just playing around. The only downside that I could find with this tool is that there are Xtranormal Points needed to publish your video. Once you purchase a character you can use them over and over again, but at a certain point, if you continued to use this tool, you would need to put some money into it. Anyway, here is the video that I did.

 

EC&I 831 – trial
by: Honni

http://www.xtranormal.com/xtraplayr/12745652/eci-831-trial

 

Well, I think that is all the time I have for today to play. I have enjoyed myself. Let me know what you think of my different attempts with some really cool new tools.

 

Comments on: "Thanks for the inspiration!" (2)

  1. Your projects look great, Honni! I enjoyed your xtranormal movie! I agree that xtranormal is annoying in the way that you have to pay for everything. Uploading my video was nearly impossible due to the upgrades required. Also, I found playing around with the camera angles got tedious. Other than that, I enjoyed the program, and it looks like you had fun with it too! I loved the picture of your daughter as well! She’s so cute!

  2. Your daughter is beautiful!

    About wordle- I used these extensively last August as I was analyzing the word usage in a blog by third year nursing students. My supervisor wanted me to save a copy of the wordle for each blog so that we could continue to compare and analyze the word usage around different words or topics discussed. I have to agree that I too had no idea how to take a snap shot of the screen but once I started I have found that I use that all of the time. I am going to check out if my computer has a snipping tool as it will only make the images better. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

