Join me as I explore different happenings in Education

Interesting Idea

It dawned on me the other day that youtube videos would be a wonderful addition to my Mother’s Day gift that I have created in the past. Now, before you think “What on earth are you thinking about Mother’s Day for in December?”, please just bear with me. In the past I have created “cookbooks” for the mothers of the students in my class. I use the term cookbook very lightly though because you would not want to cook anything following the instructions in this book. You see, the children give their own personal account of how they think their mother makes their favorite recipe. You are likely to find four cups of baking soda or 2 cups of vinegar in many recipes. This recipes are treasured by their mothers however and are guaranteed to put a smile on their face.

 

Unfortunate Foodstuffs by amy_b, on Flickr
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 Generic License  by  amy_b 

Alright, now for my brilliant idea. I was thinking that in order to make this an even more special gift, I could get the students to make a small video of themselves for their mother as well describing their recipe. This way their mother could have a paper copy of the recipe but also a visual also. Now in order to accomplish this I would of course need help. I was thinking that I could possibly ask the Grade 7 or 8 teacher if their students would be willing to help us out. The only problem that I can foresee with asking an older classroom is that I don’t know their curriculum and I don’t know if this would fit in or not. I certainly wouldn’t want them wasting valuable class time if it didn’t link to anything for them.

I should also like to point out that I would put the videos on youtube but they would private so that only the parents of the child could see them. Does this idea sound feasible to anyone? If you could suggest any tools that would make this project easier that would be great also. I have never made a video and posted it on youtube (although I am sure that the Grade 8’s would definitely know what they needed to do) so any help would be great.

Comments on: "Interesting Idea" (2)

  1. As a mom I’d be so thrilled to have the video of my little cutie-pie. Mick really liked camtasia, you could ask him about that. Wonderful creative idea!

  2. This is a wonderful idea and what a great keepsake. I think doing a video would be a lot of fun and the only other tool that comes to mind would be to use voice thread and then they could narrate pictures they made about the recipe.

Leave a Reply

